BCC ACBSP Business Student Leader Award

Butler DECA President, Mara Stewart, receives annual leadership award

EL DORADO, Kan. – This year’s Butler Community College ACBSP Business Student Leader Award recipient is Mara Stewart of El Dorado. Stewart was nominated by Marketing Department Chair Jared McGinley. 

Butler Community College Marketing student, Mara Stewart was recognized for the Accreditation Council for Collegiate Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) Business Student Leader Award.

The Accreditation Council for Collegiate Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) developed the Business Student Leadership Award to recognize excellence in business student leadership. Butler business faculty nominate students they feel exemplify business leadership. Faculty then review applications and select the recipient. Recipients are presented a plaque as well as have their name placed on a perpetual plaque on Butler’s campus.  

Stewart, a May 2021 associate degree graduate, was very involved at Butler. She entered Butler on a scholarship for singing and dancing with the Butler Headliners, worked as an intern for Butler’s College Relations & Marketing Department, was an Order of the Gold recipient achieving a 4.0 GPA, and served as President of Collegiate DECA, a professional business fraternity. 

Her involvement in school activities led her to attend numerous conferences and seminars to improve business and leadership skills, tour various businesses, and compete in business case competitions. Over the past two years at the Kansas Collegiate DECA State Conference, she placed first in Event Planning with partner Beth Walker, first in Business Ethics with partner Sophia Dawson, and individually placed third in Travel and Tourism.  

As President of Collegiate DECA, Stewart was active in fundraising, as well as organizing and leading weekly meetings. Stewart also organized and led a Leadership Development Conference for all the Kansas DECA college chapters in the state, and helped plan, organize, and lead a trip to Kansas City where the chapter met with the marketing team of Sporting Kansas City.  

In addition to her studies and involvement on the Butler campus, Stewart has worked at two additional jobs, and regularly volunteered at her church. Stewart plans to continue her studies to pursue a bachelor’s degree in Marketing at Oklahoma Christian University.  

EHS DECA students place at regionals

Several El Dorado High School student placed at the regional DECA competition at Newman University on January 22.

L-R: Jake Johnson, Erin Wranosky, Louie Tipton, Kinley Nielsen, Katie Fox, Ellie Tharp, Daisee Kohman, Jackson Schell, Trip Baker
Louie Tipton and Erin Wranosky placed first in Hospitality and Tourism Team Decision Making.

Katie Fox and Ellie Tharp placed second in Buying and Merchandising Team Decision Making.

Kinley Nielsen placed second in Marketing Communications Series.

Daisee Kohman placed second and Trip Baker placed third in Principles of Marketing.

Jackson Schell placed third in Business Financial Services.

Jake Johnson placed third in Hotel and Lodging Management.

Student Recognitions

The regularly scheduled meeting for El Dorado School District USD 490 provided an opportunity for Superintendent Sue Givens and Board members to recognize achievements of students who are performing at superior levels.

Kevin Monroe, orchestra instructor for El Dorado Middle and High School students reported on the Patriot League Music Festival. Several seventh and eighth grade band and orchestra students received I ratings at the Patriot League Music Festival on March 6. The orchestras performed at the USD 490 Performing Arts Center and the bands performed at Augusta Middle School.  


Violinist receive I Rating
7th grade violinists Jaeden Martin and Sean Kagle, both received I Ratings, were on hand at the School Board meeting.


Other students who received I Ratings (Outstanding), were:

  • 7th/8th grade orchestra
  • Cello/bass trio of Kayleigh Morris, Trista O’Connor, and Ashlynn Gomez
  • Band Quartet of Jerica George (bass clarinet), Reagan Baumgartel (bass clarinet),

 Pheydra Lynes (tenor saxophone, and Jillian George (bari saxophone)

  • Band Quartet of Michael Riddle (alto saxophone), David Mitchell (alto saxophone),
  • Pheydra Lynes (tenor saxophone), and Jillian George (bari saxophone)
  • Drew Veatch (snare drum)
  • Michael Riddle (alto saxophone)
  • David Mitchell (alto saxophone)

Students receiving II Ratings (Excellent) were:

  • 7th/8th grade band
  • String Quartet of Lilly Rogers, Alexandria Dunn, Avery Ash, and Avery Parsley
  • String Quartet of Savannah Lunsford, Haylee Payton, Shayla Powell, and Gracie Gomez

Two highschool students were recognized for achieving an ACT Score of 30 or higher.  Isabelle Haahr scored a 31 and Mahlon Hart scored a 30. Both students will have their names added to a plaque at the high school honoring their success.  

Isabelle Haahr, left, and Mahlon Hart, right.

Kelly Ankrom, EHS Business & FACS & Health and DECA sponsor gave a report on DECA regional successes and Scott Vang, Activity/Athletic Director gave updates on the district’s extracurricular programs.

Board Clerk Melissa Smith, reminded the Board of the positions coming up for election and the filing deadline. Of June 3rd.  Those Board members who are up for reelection are Rob Lane, Tom Storrer, Norm Wilkes and Monty Hughey.

Superintendent Givens introduced Kathy Robertson as the new Executive Director of Fiscal and Support Services beginning July 1, 2019.  

Board President Norm Wilks gave the Legislative Update and before adjourning Superintendent Sue Givens presented a resolution to accept a full price offer on the former Lincoln School Property. The Board approved the resolution to sell the property for $51,400.  

Upcoming calendar items include:

  • April 19 No School
  • April 22 No School – Professional Development Day
  • April 24 Administrative Professionals Day “do the work of the district”
  • April 29 Fifth Monday Board Meeting – Architect Presentations
  • May 5-10 Teacher Appreciation Week